Missive

Posted: May 13, 2009 in Old thoughts
Tags: , , , ,

Missive \Mis”sive\,(mis′iv)a. [See Missive, n.] -a letter or written message

Back to the time when emails or SMS is yet to be discovered, we exchange letters.  I grew up in an environment where giving and swapping letters is almost a daily scenario.  When words just cannot be expressed, and you can’t tell it to someone’s face … just send a missive and be heard.

The aim was to put across what you want to convey because the most important things are the hardest things to say. They are the things you get ashamed of because words diminish your feelings- words shrink things that seem timeless when they are in your head to no more than living size when they are brought out

Once in a while, you will receive a letter that will blow you away -I had my share. This letter was received by a close friend of mine, in our young minds this really took home the cake…  

Someday… perhaps, when I develop the courage and intensity of desire to grow as a person I will spill all the contents of my mind and my heart to you. It may even be that I have already done so. But still you know only a little about my personality. I really wanted to say my thoughts to you to tell you about my judgment and values, to expose to you my fears and shames, and to share my feelings before I can really be sure. Definitely, dishonesty will find its way to haunt and trouble us. So it’s better to say things that may truly hurt than trying to deceive each other, we will have to tell things at times that will be difficult for us to share…we have no choice, and if we want to reach the essence of commitment, we must be ready to accept each other simply for what we are and practice mutual honesty and openness. However, if I’m seeking a real and authentic relationship is totally uncalled for -Do something I’m not perfect and I admit that I’m simply not matured enough to face responsibilities…so you also have to help me. I want a real relationship – let’s say a special bond that will not hinder me to grow as a person I have experienced more of life, I have encountered depth in those I loved…I suffered and been hurt. I’m more careful right now for I’m trying to avoid those things to happen to me again… and also to you.

Leave a Reply

