This was mine!

Posted: May 15, 2009 in Old thoughts
Tags: , , ,

Go back in time for at least a decade. A debutant close friend of mine asked me to composed a poem to put in her invation card as sort of a present. While the words ‘yes’ passed through my lips my brains are scanning for inspiration
to make this happen. I pictured myself banging my head on the wall. How can you put words into something that dont really give out emotions? I mean, how many lines you can write as far as being a debutant is concerned? But then again, my friend is special and im willing to move mountains for her.

She’s doing the whole nine yards, cottilion and all. Me – I passed my being eighteen just throwing a party and that’s it!Nevertheless, I pull my acts together and  manage to create one and gave it her. She was happy and all is well…Until one day she inquired if the poem is orginal. ‘I can provide you the scratch’ was my only reply. She explained that she saw the same  thing in some printing shop which also copied her patterns for her invitation card.

There are basically two types of people. People who accomplish things, and people who claim to have accomplished things. The first group is less crowded. I’m staking my claim on this one because i accomplished it. Even this means only crap to you, this is mine! All mine!      

Now I look back
to a path I once tracked.
And as I reflect upon the past
I recall the destiny i once casts.
I have come to this world as a gift of love
Walked through childhood and learned the values of life
I fought the struggles
And was rewarded for winning.
I suffered the pains of losing
when times are too tiring.
All along I never had andy doubt
There’s so much to be thankul about
to God to which this life i owe,
to my parents who guide me as i grow,
and all the friends I came to know
Through thick and thin
however rocky the road it may seems
life had been good, better and worst
Yet, they were there when I needed them most.
However yesterday turned out to be
It will always be a part of my life, a treasured memory
Though I know I still havent gone that far
This is just the beginning, a new start.
I’m starting a new chapter, turning a new page
ready to live my life on a different stage
like a butterfly emerged from its cocoon
I now face the world… a lady that has bloomed.

Comments
  1. brown_0ne says:

    first! hahahaha 😛
    i know this stuff..

  2. cris says:

    hmm she must be really a dear friend.. for you to be able to write something that would be a part of who she is and who she will become.. bravo, mi amigo.. 🙂

  3. Cris says:

    Actually, this is the first time I read this poem and I like it (“MAKATA” ka pala)… What is the title again?

    Something that I can relate to my fav word – “ACCEPTANCE” =)

  4. Joy says:

    Nice 🙂

Leave a Reply

