To bitch or not to bitch

Posted: June 5, 2009 in Random Thoughts
Tags: , , ,

I was reading Dave’s blog few days back that gave me an idea for this blog. His blog entitled Strong Personality vs. Plain Ol’ Asshole (Where do you draw the line?) made me realized that I too was seeking the same answer – To bitch or not to bitch? According to Wikipedia, the term “bitch” comes from the 1150 word bicche, which was developed from the Old English word bicce. It also may have been derived from the Old Icelandic work bikkja for “female dog.” The phrase “son of a bitch” dates back to its use in Of Arthur & Merlin c. 1330.Since the 1980s, the term “bitch” has become increasingly accepted and less offensive. Prior to the term’s general acceptance, euphemistic terms were often substituted, such as “gun” in the phrase “son of a gun” as opposed to “son of a bitch”, or “s.o.b.” for the same phrase. More generally the term has also acquired the meaning of something unpleasant or irksome, as in the expression “Life’s a Bitch”.The phrase “my bitch”, connote ownership of a woman. The term “bitch slap” is a slang word in the original sense, a powerful, full-swing slap in the face with the front of the hand.

The terms “biatch”, “beyotch” or similar expression is a slang substitute for bitch. The term has become widely used in mainstream media to avoid censorship. In driving, the phrase “riding bitch” can refer to sitting in the middle of a bench seat when one is sandwiched between the driver and another passenger—an uncomfortable position when space in the car is scarce, especially where the drive tunnel limits legroom. Also refers to riding on the small seat behind the driver of a motorcycle.

The term “flip a bitch” is used primarily in America where it means to make a u-turn (legal or illegal).”Bitching” as a verb, “to bitch” means to complain. Usually used to express frustration in the complainer’s complaints. Allegedly, it was originally used to refer to as the stereotypical wife’s constant complaints about petty things.

I used to be pretty much a push-over. Too naive and always trying to be liked. When I was in primary school I got this award. Most Tolerant Student Award. I felt a pang in my face while receiving that award as my teacher explained the reason she picked me to have it was due to my extreme coolness. She reiterates that I don’t get mad easily and I can always take a joke. Behind those positive words are the growing feelings of negativity. My mind screamed ‘tolerant is the new whimp, byotch!’  So from then on I decided to be more twisted i.e. to possess a stronger personality. After that, I became more confident and assertive.

A decade ago, a close  friend of mine called my attention about my growing a-hole personality. She stressed about my being insentitive biatch to my friends and to others. Always wanting it my way, my ideas are far more better, This is the better bar  not that one! I will tell it to your face, I dont care if it hurts !  But the words- “Just because it’s all good for you doesnt mean it’s all good for them, let them decide!” finally set in.

So where to draw a line between being strong and just being a bitch? Where one must end and the other should begin?  Sure, the lion is king of the jungle but drop him into Antarctica and he’s just a penguin’s bitch. There will come a time in your life that your bitchness will call for liberation. When your every nerves are pushed to the it’s limits and every ounce of your body want to shout at someone and say all the words that will hurt them back. Its the time when it’s easier to go blah! blah!blah! rather than keep your mouth shut and walk away.You can’t stop something that’s inside of you. Sometimes being strong, righteous, bitch, arrogant, twisted, good or evil was never a CHOICE it’s WHO WE ARE. Be more concerned with your character than your reputation, because your character is what you are, while your reputation is merely what others think you are.

For those who are bitching too much – “Maybe you don’t like your job, maybe you didn’t get enough sleep, well nobody likes their job, nobody got enough sleep. Maybe you just had the worst day of your life, but you know, there’s no escape, there’s no excuse, so just suck up and be nice.”
-Ani DiFranco

For those who are just too nice -Find your inner bitch,  go out and grab the world by the lapels. Life’s a bitch. You’ve got to go out and kick ass. “Sometimes you have to be a bitch to get things done” – Madonna

 

The poem below was taken from my closest friend’s friendster profile – Melissa, You are the bitch I’ve always wanted to be c”,)

When I stand up for myself and my beliefs, they call me a bitch.

When I stand up for those I love, they call me a bitch.

When I speak my mind, think my own thoughts or do things my own way, they call me a bitch.

Being a bitch means I won’t compromise what’s in my heart.

It means I live my life MY way. It means I won’t allow anyone to step on me.

When I refuse to tolerate injustice and speak against it, I’m defined as a bitch.

The same thing happens when I take time for myself instead of being everyone’s maid, or when I act a little selfish.

It means I have the courage and strength to allow myself to be who I truly am and won’t become anyone else’s idea of what they think I “should be”.

I am outspoken, opinionated and determined.

I want what I want and there is nothing wrong with that!

So try to stomp on me, try to douse my inner flame, and try to squash every ounce of beauty hold within me. You won’t succeed!!!

And if that’s make me a bitch, so be it. I embrace the title and am proud to BEAR IT!

 Best . . . Individual . . . The . . . Company’s . . . Hired!!!

 

Notes:  David’s Holmes blog –http://lonewolf77.xanga.com/

Comments
  1. brOwn_suGar says:

    cheers to all the bitches! ;))

  2. Gad Daniel says:

    very bitchy article. but my fav line is the most bottom part:

    “Best . . . Individual . . . The . . . Company’s . . . Hired!”

    ahahhahahaa

    the best!

  3. Amy says:

    Weird coincidence…i just posted on my FB the same quote from Ani DiFranco earlier this morning. Good question huh?? to bitch or not to bitch. Pre’ isa kang henyo sa pagsusulat…ipagpatuloy mo lang yan. So proud of you friend.

Leave a Reply

