Worth Remembering

Posted: June 19, 2009 in Limericks
Tags: ,

This poem was composed by my good friend and college buddy – Ana. She made this back on Sept 2, 1997, we were already working. I kept a copy because I like what she wrote. She lost her copy and bugged me to post it. So I will let this sit on my blog with her permission.  I can still recall what came about that she made this piece. It was written straight from the heart,  in her low point and darkest hours… I bear witnessed.

She dumped an old lover for a new love and it was too late when she realized that the new love was an itch she just wanted to scratch and nothing more.  The ex lover let go completely as she clings for reconciliation and forgiveness. She kept herself afloat and always on the sideline hoping for the ex to see her in a different light. Anna’s courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes her courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, “I will try again tomorrow.”  But time takes it all whether you want it to or not, time takes it all. Time bares it away, and in the end there is only darkness. Sometimes we find others in that darkness, and sometimes we lose them there again.

To Ana -May you never forget what is worth remembering, nor ever remember what is best forgotten.

It’s hurting me to see you that way
it’s not what I’m used to since that day
I thought that all things will be okay
never thought that you would slip away

I wanted to tell you how much I love you
but it seems you won’t let me say it to you
I wanted to tell you how much I feel for you
desperate to know if you feel the same way too

Did I hear it right when you said you love me?
Did I feel it right when you hugged and kissed me?
I just can’t forget that very special moment
I wanted to remember it until the end

I love you enough to give it a try
and care for you though you made me cry
taking the risk means to sacrifice
I know, loving you would just suffice

Loving you seems to me the best thing
even though we can’t keep it working
still I’m holding on to something
till now, caring ad sacrificing…

I have done my best and everything
to let go of this love and feeling
just when I thought I am almost through
you proved to me this thing’s real and true

If it is not too much asking
may I hear from you again one thing
Are you still there — loving and caring?
Or was it for me, wishful thinking

For once, I want to stop pretending
it would turn out a happy ending
don’t leave me this way — hoping yet hurting…
leave me with a thing worth remembering

I would rather be your long lost friend
so that things will turn out well again
I’d rather be the one to suffer
so as to help you get things over

As a friend, you can stay forever
in a way, we could be together
I just want you to remember
I’ll be loving you forever

Accepting things would be hurting
but at least I’ve proven one thing
loving you makes life worth living
and yes it’s worth remembering.

Comments
  1. Fria says:

    wow!!! ang ganda!

    -gusto ko din tong line “May you never forget what is worth remembering, nor ever remember what is best forgotten.” 😀

  2. Amy says:

    So there’s a poet in her anyway huh??!! akala ko puro yabang alam ni Ana during those times eh bwahahaha….this is nice…very nice!!!

Leave a Reply

