“You could travel the world but nothing comes close to the golden coast” – Katy Perry, California Girls

We landed in LAX evening of Nov 5, 2010 past 8pm in the evening. After 2 hours more going thru immigration we reached home for a shut eye by midnight but before that we munched that Alaskan crab and lobster that my aunt and uncle prepared for us…yummy!

So what else was new in our 2nd visit? We tried again all those stuff that we did in our first vacation and to refresh your memory go to this site: https://ellehctur.wordpress.com/2009/07/31/los-angeles-california/.  We revisited downtown Hollywood and took pictures in the walk of fame. We looked for Johnny Depp’s star but we cannot find it aaaargh! We had coffee at star bucks inside the Kodak Theater where those Oscars and Emmys held. From there you can see that hill where the famous HOLLYWOOD sign was standing. We also revisited Santa Monica beach and Disneyland in Anaheim.

Spending an afternoon in Universal Studio was a blast. Our first agenda was to go for a studio tour also known as The Backlot Tour and like our first time there, Desperate Housewives was filming and we are required to keep quiet in one of the spot of the trip. The war of the world set was still there, that scene with a commercial 747 aircraft scattered into pieces in a residential area. During the Halloween season, a combination of cast members and dummies are put in place as crash victims. The instantly recognizable Psycho Bates Mansion, but here’s a little trivia from wiki: While shooting a big movie on the Universal lot back in 1999, Jim Carrey dressed up as “mother” and leapt out from behind the Psycho house, scaring everyone on the tram, including the guides. The movie in production was Man on the Moon, and when Tram operators spoke to the film crew for an explanation, they said, “There was a break during filming and he got bored”)…Blah! Why this kind of spontaneous moment never happened to me? I love Jim Carrey! The Flash Flood scene from the Big Fat Liar, The Fast & The Furious: Extreme Close-Up where those cars from the movie doing a simulation of an action sequence, Whoville Comes To Life set from the Grinch movie, Also, I need to mention this new attraction in the tour-The King Kong 360 3-D, it was awesome and it was created by Peter Jackson. The tram enters a sound stage that looks like Skull Island form the movie. The tram we are riding on was attacked by two Venatosaurus and so we are shouting only to disturb Kong, who begins to fight them. The fight continues from one side of the tram to the other, as air and water effects are blown onto audience to further the illusion. Near the end of the experience, a V-Rex gets a hold of what is supposed to be the last tram car and pulls it from the train, throwing it down a pit. But it was not really the last tram it’s just and image of it because I was sitting in the last tram. Kong defeats the V-Rex and roars in triumph. As the tram passes the Bates Motel, we can see Norman Bates noticing the audience and walks hauntingly towards us with a butcher knife. Everybody was screaming because it looks convincing that he is going to harm us  just like in the movies, actually he looked like Mr. Schuester of Glee  only creepy because he is not singing, dancing, nor rapping . For real! He was playing the part and not smiling at all!  Nyahahahaha!

Apart from the theme parks we also made a trip to that famous zip code of Hollywood – 90210. Since we are discussing, I once wished to live there and be neighbors with the paternal twins Brandon and Brenda, and rub elbows with Dillon and Kelly and finished high school at Beverly High- good thing day dreaming was free otherwise that will really burnt a hole in my pocket. Anyways, this part of the hood got wicked cribs! It was sooooo fabulous!

Just outside of Beverly Hills was the Million of Milkshakes, if you watched a lot of E! You will get me. It’s Los Angeles funkiest milkshake bar located in West Hollywood. It is the latest celebrity bandwagon. This store allows you to customized you own overpriced milkshakes. They have ‘Celebrity Milkshake’, meaning milkshake customized by a celebrity it has become a celebrity hotspot with a long wait-list of actors, musicians, and athletes requesting to make their own signature shakes and I tasted Kim Kardahsian’s milkshake flavor yummy!

Coming back from San Francisco, it was so traffic and you guessed it we were late! We came in half time. But no big fuss as we are the tardy bunch! We watched the NBA at the Staples Center- LA Lakers vs. Phoenix Suns. I’m not much of a basketball fan but this was NBA c’mon! It was nice to indulge once in a while for something that is so popular and big. The tardy bunch was rooting for Lakers to win but as always whomever we root for always loose. Now we are convinced… We are the jinx! How come watching them live they are not actually moving that fast but on the TV screen they are burning rubber, why is that? The crowd was so alive and most of them are wearing the Lakers uniform was it because they are that fanatic or they just have money to burn? It must be both!  And those cheerleaders… my oh my!  Why are those cheerleaders not cheering anymore they more like dancing now and in sexy moves? Must be trend! I also like watching the giant screen in the middle, during intermission; it will highlight an audience making fun of themselves while the crowd cheers! I also liked that the screen showed Will Farrell and Steve Carell in the crowd watching the same game.

I met my college friend here (thank you face book!) that I haven’t seen in a long time. She drove all the way from OC (Orange County) just to have dinner with me. She was the reason I was in this career and this career allows me to travel. I remember 5 months after graduation I was still slacking around and she kept calling me, chatting and pushing me to apply for their company. Many times I have ignored her offer because I wanted to work in the business district of Metro Manila and their office was far from it. One time, I gave in, so I went, I got accepted and somehow I feel she gave a heads up to the hiring manager and I was assigned to a telecom project in the business district of Metro Manila- just like I wanted! Thank you Icar, I know this is not a big deal for you; you were just envious of me bumming around while you are doing 9 to 6 hahahhaha! Just kidding, I really appreciate it, being friends with you did served that great purpose in my life especially my future…muah!

Comments
  1. the brOwn_oNe says:

    2nd time’s a charm! 🙂

Leave a Reply

