An Evening with Rob Schneider

Posted: February 22, 2011 in An Evening with Rob Schneider, Broadway Musicals\ Plays \On Stage
Tags: , , ,

“I try not to worry about what that`s going to look like. If you worry about looking stupid, that`s when you look really stupid.” – Rob Schneider

It was a last minute decision for me to buy the ticket for a stand-up comedy show that happened to be in town for one night only. There are only individual seats left but I head on to buy it anyway because I kept thinking I will regret this if I let this pass. I hate procrastinating if eventually I go for it anyway.  I should have bought the tickets ahead of time so I wouldn’t have to go to this show alone. I’m not so sure what made me deferring, I wasn’t contemplating on the ticket price duh! It’s Rob Schneider, his a Hollywood star, his worth every penny. Probably, it’s because I’m not a big fan and I only like his one movie “The Hot Chick” and the rest was just slapstick. But I’m really curious and intrigue as to what he can do on a live performance but I must say the outcome was not disappointment at all.

This 48 year old comedian/scriptwriter is half Filipino and half Jew and grew up in San Francisco. I have seen most of his films and I know his mother always made cameo appearances in it, playing a cheerleading contest judge in The Hot Chick, a restaurant patron in Deuce Bigalow: Male Gigolo, and a nosy neighbour in The Animal.  Schneider was first hired at Saturday Night Live in 1988, and was the first Asian-American to be a cast member on the show. He was a good friend of actor Adam Sandler and he starred in many of Sandler’s films, including 50 First Dates (2004) and Grown-Ups (2010). Just like his mom in his movies he also shows up in Adam Sandler’s movies and oftentimes broke out lines like “You can do it!” from 1998 movie The Water boy.

The show started by three amateur Singapore-based comedians. Schneider, being a fan of comedy wanted to give local comedians a chance to perform on the big stage.  presentation wise, though the three are substandard they are more than acceptable as they managed to carry the 1400 audience in Rock Auditorium and made all of us laughed. Then its Rob Schneider turn the crowd was roaring. He complained of being a midget because he was really short in person. I like the fact that he kept telling his audience his half Filipino and make fun how his mother speaks and picks up the English dirty word that she heard from him and his brother when fighting and used it against them and how growing up as a half Filipino and half Jew their house smells like soy sauce and holocaust.

He tackles lots of things like politics “Obama had a plan: Change! Yes, take all the dollars we have and turn them into change!” and made fun of himself and being in Singapore “This place is so clean, the only thing dirty is my act.”, “How do you know that teen-age Singaporean broke into your house? They answered your math homework for you.” He also imitated Adam Sandler at one point and it sounded exactly like him and do medley of his famous movie-role catchphrases.

“Life doesn’t make any sense, and we all pretend it does. Comedy’s job is to point out that it doesn’t make sense, and that it doesn’t make much difference anyway.”– I love comedy, the timing, the clever monologue it’s really an art of making people laugh but I don’t find slapsticks comedy as humorous. I have admiration for those people who can deliver those clever dialogues and quick-witted remarks. There never was a boring moment in an evening with Rob Schneider he was very entertaining to watch indeed.

Schneider Facts:

  1. Name: Rob Schneider  ; Date of Birth: October 31, 1963 ; Place of Birth:  San Francisco, California, USA
  2. He recently released his first comedy album Registered Offender to coincide with the tour.
  3. In 1996, Schneider established the “Rob Schneider Music Foundation.” The foundation returned music education to Pacifica’s elementary schools by paying the teachers’ salaries and providing funds for instruments and other equipment. Prior to Schneider’s efforts, the school system had done without music education programs for many years.
  4. Schneider once co-owned the DNA Lounge, a San Francisco nightclub.
  5. Schneider is an environmentalist. He drives a Toyota Prius hybrid automobile, and served as host for the 13th annual Environmental Media Awards in 2004.
Comments
  1. Carl Damour says:

    I love this blog. Actually I have been trying to put together one something like this as well, though I am not savvy enough on how to do it. How exactly is this “WordPress” thing? Is it difficult? Must I be smart in computers to put together a blog? I am hoping to make a blog for my learn english writing language website. Can it be meshed into a current website?

  2. Bagus sekali dan keep it up! Saya telah memikirkan memulai blog WordPress juga. Apakah Anda tahu situs manapun di mana mereka mengajarkan anda bagaimana?

  3. Damon Hugley says:

    Links exchange proposal… Nice to be here, you may wanna exchange inbound links with me at Essay on Psychology Major?. This time, I provide a three-way backlink coming from my other website. The exchange backlink request detail is at the home page.

  4. Pretty good post. I just stumbled upon your blog and wanted to say that I have really enjoyed reading your blog posts

  5. avtobazar says:

    Thanks – where is article source?

  6. great blog If you are the type to update your blog regulary, then you have gained one daily reader in me today. keep up the super work.
    watch priest online free

Leave a Reply

